New! Writers in Wilmington: Readings by Contemporary Authors

October 23, 2014 @ 7:30 pm
Free for Members, $5 Non-Members

This exciting new series brings notable writers to the Museum from Delaware and beyond for enthralling readings of poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction.

Jeanne Murray Walker

Thursday, October 23 | 7:30 p.m.

Join poet, memoirist, and playwright Jeanne Murray Walker for an engaging reading of selected poems. Walker is the author of eight volumes of poetry, including Helping the Morning: New and Selected Poems and A Deed to the Light. Her memoir, The Geography of Memory: A Pilgrimage through Alzheimer’s, tells the hair-raising, often funny story of the decade she and her sister cared for their mother. Walker is Professor of English at The University of Delaware, where she heads the Creative Writing Concentration.

JoAnn Balingit and Teresa Burns Murphy

Thursday, November 13 | 7:30 p.m.

JoAnn Balingit is Delaware’s Poet Laureate, appointed in May 2008 by Governor Ruth Ann Minner. She teaches poetry in schools, libraries, and community centers across the state and advocates for poets-in-the-schools programming. She is the author of Words for House Story, a collection of poems, and Your Heart and How It Works. Balingit is winner of the 2010 Global Filipino Literary Award and the Whitebird Chapbook Prize.

Teresa Burns Murphy is the author of a novel, The Secret to Flying. Her short fiction and poetry have been published in several literary journals and anthologies, including The Tower Journal. She won the 1996 WORDS: The Arkansas Literary Society Award for Fiction. Murphy was also a finalist for the 2006 Kate Braverman Short Story Prize and the 2009 Janice Farrell Poetry Prize.


This program is partially funded by a grant from the Delaware Humanities Forum, a state program of the National Endowment for the Humanities.